The Younger Generation Seems To Have It Figured Out (At Least We Hope!)

Social media buttons

In a world full of Social Media, it is important for one in the industry to stay on top of their game. Even at the age of 23, I feel as if technology is surpassing me at surprisingly rapid pace. The woman in the Amazon Fire phone commercial pretty much sums up how I feel.

Let me see if I can get the ball rolling on some of the trends I have noticed in the emerging media world…
The number symbol, oops, I mean #Hashtag! The pound sign that groups any word or topic into a searchable link. A form of SEO (Search Engine Optimization) if you will. #Hashtags are no longer specific to Twitter as they have found a new home among Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and other blogging sites. Jimmy Fallon & Justin Timberlake seem to get the hang of it!

How many times have you looked at your phone today? I would probably be embarrassed to say myself. I feel like many, including myself would be lost without their mobile phone. Communication through voice and text, email, social media platforms, etc. You name it, your phone can make it happen. Just ask Siri! (Sorry, Android users).

Now, I know cellphones are nothing new in this trending world but what they have done is created a new way of marketing and for that, we thank you. By the end of 2014, mobile is predicted to overtake desktop Internet usage. Companies are creating apps and making their website mobile friendly. Consumers are now becoming more comfortable purchasing items through their mobile devices.

The last topic I will introduce today will be, Video Marketing. A third of all online activity is spent watching videos. Companies are searching for ways to capture their audience in exciting ways and I believe video marketing does just that. Take the Johnnie Walker Blue Label commercial ‘The Gentleman’s Wager’. Never do they speak the name of the scotch nor do they even show the full label on the bottle. It is implied that, their drink of choice is Johnnie Walker Blue Label. A classy yet fun story, which may or may not have a sequel. (I am hoping it does!).

Leave a Reply

